Those Recognized at the April 12, 2015 Honors, Scholarship, and Recognition Ceremony

Certificate of Special Achievement: Introductory American History
Dana Corbett         Maren Orchard       Hannah Zivkovich       Lauren Ross
Thomas Forbes     Samantha Carson   Susan Schrader            Daniel Witlock
Brady Hertel          Kyle Jones                 Dawn Sheeley               Sarah Norris

Certificate of Special Achievement: Introductory World  History
Emily Barsic          Andrew Johnson      Jacob Smith               Maria Miranda
Maren Orchard    Kyle Stearns              Elizabeth Myers        Kaitlyn Delle Donne
Garrett Finn          Kathryn Powell         Jacob Sliger               Samantha Bohannon
Mark Goodman   Shannon Greeley

Certificate of Special Achievement: Introductory Specialty  History
Shay Stewart        Anna Wiegand           Tara Williams           Stephanie Hoelle
Emily Meer           Jenae Troyer               William Leonard      Sierra Trowbridge

Certificate of Special Achievement: Outstanding Pre-Service Social Studies Teachers
Elementary Education
Kathryn Coale                                           Emarie Warner
Middle School and Secondary Education
Donnie Strine       Lyndsie Williams      James (Paul) Hyatt   Stephanie Sink

Stephen J. Sr. and Beatrice Brademas Scholarship Recipients
Mitchell Knigga    Daniel Hill                 Hannah Long              Carli Vose

John and Therese Weakland Scholarship
Gina Iacobucci                                            Hannah Dwyer

Dr. T. M. Anderson Scholarship
Austin Glaub

Jack Walker Scholarship in History
Daniel Hill

Childress Fellowships
Jared Owens                                               Gina Iacobucci

Lawrence and Mabel Hurst Scholarships
Erin Bretz                     Alicia Ferraro                          Heather Hines
Mitchell Knigga           Frank Lacopo                          Brianna Lisak

Morton and Linda Rosenberg Scholarship
Nicholas Favela

Althea Stoeckel Memorial Scholarship Award
Danielle Lain

Merrill Rippy Memorial Scholarship Award
Hannah Dwyer

Lester F. Schmidt Memorial Scholarship Award
Samantha Carson

Robert R. LaFollette Memorial Scholarship Award
Brianna Lisak

Lawrence Birken Memorial Scholarship Award
Alexis Robertson

Dwight W. Hoover Scholarship
Emily Rapoza

Public History Internships, Spring 2014-15
Andrew Luce, Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and Museum in
Independence, MO
Lukas Ramey, The Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site in Indianapolis, IN
Erin Bretz, Collections Department at Minnetrista in Muncie, IN
Luke McNamee, Indiana Department of Natural Resources Division of
Historic Preservation and Archaeology in Indianapolis, IN
Christina Newhart, Mounds State Park in Anderson, IN
Max Madson, Collections Department Academy of Model Aeronautics National
Model Aviation Museum in Muncie, IN
Nicholas Favela, Bracken Library Archives and Special Collections Department,
Ball State University in Muncie, IN
Frank Lacopo, Northern Indiana Center of History in South Bend, IN

Honors Students Completing Theses
Ashley Cornwell (Krzemienski): “Captain America: Nazi Hunter?”
Emily Rapoza (Krzemienski): “Ethically Unethical: A Look into a Series of Case Studies About the Scientific Projects Under the Nazi Regime”
Brianna Lisak (Zhuk): “Estonia: From the Soviet Past to the European Union”
Stephanie Sink (Geelhoed): “Walt Disney, the 1964-1965 World’s Fair, and the Emergence of Audio-Animatronics”
Brittany Held (Suppe): “Was Lindow Man a Druid?”

Immersive Learning Courses
Indiana State Forests Project, Dr. Ronald Morris:
Katherine Berg     Sarah Brown        Becca Chalfant     Erin Silcox
Jillian Quillen        Elle Reece              Abby Gerhart
BSU African American Alumni Oral History Project, Dr. Michael Doyle:
Kristal All              Charlotte Sipe        Charelle Brown    Samuel Utley

History Student Conference Paper Awards
Undergraduate Student Paper: Jason Rose
Best Graduate Student Paper in World History: Lisa Mercer
Best Graduate Student Paper in US History and the Richard and Dorothy Burkhardt Award for best overall paper: Nathanael Pass

Department of History Graduate Assistants, 2014-2015
Aly Caviness                       Lisa Mercer                       Katina Reedy
Lisa Hensell                        Nathanael Pass                Victoria Smallegan

Department of History Undergraduate Teaching Fellows, 2014-2015
Ashley Cornwell      Stephanie Hoelle     Brianna Lisak      Brittany Pugh
Alexis Cozzarelli      Gina Iacobucci         Trevor Reece        Breanna Hutchison
Hannah Dwyer        Michael Kiess           Hayden Shaw       Stephanie Sink
Alicia Ferraro           Patricia Brand          Mitchell Knigga    Emily Slomski
Heather Hines         Brittany Held            Frank Lacopo       Lyndsie Williams
Stephanie Sink        Joseph Sweet

Department of History Student Assistants, 2014-2015
Kaitlyn Best          Paige Riebsomer          Erin Bretz             Jessie Smock

Officers of the History Club, 2014-2015
President: Brittany Pugh                             Vice President: Ashley Cornwell
Treasurer: Lance Winkler                           Secretary: Stephanie Hoell
Public Relations Director: Abby Busse    Historian: Carrie Rhodus

Phi Alpha Theta National History Honorary Society, 2014-2015
Emily Rapoza (President)      Jessie Boshell                 Ashley Cornwell
Julia Ricci (Vice-President)    Brianna Lisak                 Lisa Mercer
Stephanie Sink                        Emily Slomski                Frank Lacopo

Faculty Prize
Heather Hines

Outstanding Junior Awards
Zachary Bisel         Aiden Feay          Austin Glaub        Meghan McDougall
Brady Hertel          Daniel Hill           Jared Owens         Claudia Nickolaus
Allen Wiseley        Frank Lacopo      Samantha Carson

Outstanding Senior Awards
Erin Bretz              Ashley Cornwell  Alicia Ferraro        Heather Hines
Mitchell Knigga    Brianna Lisak       Julia Ricci              Steven Richard
Emily Slomski       Jenna Treiber

Graduands Attending
Heather Hines     Alicia Ferraro         Erin Bretz              Emily Slomski
Julia Ricci              Max Madson          Jenna Treiber       Ashley Cornwell
Steven Rickard    Lyndsie Williams   Michael Kiess        Stephanie Sink
Hayden Shaw       Donnie Strine        Hannah Long        James (Paul) Hyatt
Jessie Boshell       Nicholas Favela     Christina Newhart

Share here:

Leave a Comment